Metamorphosis: a visual

Throughout our readings of Kafka’s Metamorphosis, we have been taking visual notes to keep track of our ideas. Despite this, after reading and discussing the iconic opening line of the story, I felt compelled to create a more detailed depiction.

“As Gregor Samsa awoke one morning from uneasy dreams he found himself transformed in his bed into a monstrous vermin.”

Capture

This one took me a while to make using Microsoft’s one-note program, but in the end, I felt it conveyed the scene from the story. I included the painting of the woman mentioned later in the story as well as the blanket on the floor to depict Gregor’s struggle in getting out of bed. I felt the use of a “messy sketch” kind of style represents the mood and tone of the story very well. The author doesn’t make it seem as vibrant or colorful, but rather plain and black and white. The events in the story itself are enough to make it interesting, so the author doesn’t need to add much more. I look forward to reading the rest of the story.

 

pbs.twimg.com/media/BhBXk2_CMAATlov.jpg

Leave a comment